Distinguished Eagle Scout Award
DAYTON, Ohio (10/27/2009) -- Neil Armstrong presents Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Charles D. Metcalf with the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award during a ceremony at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force. (U.S. Air Force photo)
Museum director receives Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

by Sarah Swan
National Museum of the U.S. Air Force

10/28/2009 - DAYTON, Ohio -- Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Charles D. Metcalf, director of the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force, received the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) during a ceremony on Oct. 27 at the museum. Former astronaut and DESA recipient Neil Armstrong presented the award. 

"I am truly honored to be recognized with this award and am privileged to have it presented to me by Neil Armstrong," Metcalf said. "The values instilled during my Scouting days have stayed with me throughout my life and are consistent with the core values of the United States Air Force. I think these are the values you would want to find in any good citizen." 

Metcalf earned his Eagle Scout Award on Aug. 19, 1949, in Anamosa, Iowa, and has continued his involvement with the Boy Scouts over the years, serving as Vice President (at large) and on the Leadership and Standards Committee for the Central Region. 

After entering the Air Force in 1955, Metcalf served for nearly 36 years on active duty in a variety of financial management and planning positions, retiring in 1991 in the grade of major general. Since 1996, he has managed the world's largest and oldest military aviation museum, portraying the heritage and traditions of the Air Force through specialized exhibits. 

Metcalf's community involvement has included serving on the Oakwood City Council and on the boards of the Greater Dayton United Way, County Corp Development in Dayton, Greater Dayton Public Television and Michigan State University's National Alumni Board. 

Metcalf was nominated for the DESA by the Miami Valley Council and the Boy Scouts of America. The award is granted to Eagle Scouts who, after 25 years, have distinguished themselves in their life work and who have shared their talents with their communities on a voluntary basis. Since the award was implemented in 1969, approximately 1,750 nominations have been approved. The Miami Valley Council has granted a total of three Distinguished Eagle Scout Awards. 

The National Eagle Scout Association Committee, under the direction of the Boy Scout Division, National Office, Boy Scouts of America, selects the recipients of this award. The members of the selection committee are all DESA recipients. More information about the award, including a list of past recipients, is available at http://www.nesa.org/distinguishedaward.html.

NOTE TO MEDIA: For more information about Metcalf, please contact Sarah Swan at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force Public Affairs Division at (937) 255-1283. For more information about the Boy Scouts or the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, please contact Ken Wade, Executive Director, Miami Valley Council, at (937) 278-4825.