Image of the Air Force wings with the museum name underneath

Open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
FREE Admission & Parking

Gordon Bennett Balloon Trophy

This Gordon Bennett Balloon Trophy was awarded to the U.S. in 1928 for winning it for the third successive year when Capt. William E. Kepner and Lt. William O. Eareckson flew 460.9 miles in a free balloon from Detroit, Mich.

The first Gordon Bennett Balloon Trophy Race was won in 1906 by two Americans, Lt. Frank B. Lahm and Maj. Henry B. Hersey when they flew 402 miles in a free balloon from Paris, France. The first trophy, permanently awarded to Belgium in 1924, was donated in 1906 by James Gordon Bennett, an American newspaper publisher.

Donated by the Aero Club of Belgium.

Click here to return to the Balloons & Airships Overview.


Find Out More
Related Fact Sheets
U.S. Army Ballooning Renewed
Note: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the National Museum of the USAF, the U.S. Air Force, or the Department of Defense, of the external website, or the information, products or services contained therein.