An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

100th Anniversary Logo with the 100 in large letters and the museum logo
Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. seven days a week.
FREE Admission & Parking

USAF Chiefs of Staff

The Department of the Air Force manages all elements of the U.S. Air Force. It is administered by a civilian secretary appointed by the president and is supervised by a military chief of staff. The chief of staff, U.S. Air Force, is appointed by the president from among the Air Force general officers, with the consent of the U.S. Senate, normally for a four-year term. He is the principal advisor to the secretary of the Air Force. He presides over the Air Staff, and transmits Air Staff plans and recommendations to the secretary of the Air Force and acts as the secretary's agent in carrying them out. He is responsible for the efficiency of the Air Force and the preparation of its forces for military operations. He supervises the administration of Air Force personnel assigned to unified organizations and specified commands. Also, he supervises support of the forces assigned by the Air Force as directed by the secretary of defense. He serves as a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and Armed Forces Policy Council. In the JCS capacity, he is one of the military advisors to the president and the National Security Council and the secretary of defense.

1947-1948 -- Gen. Carl A. Spaatz
1948-1953 -- Gen. Hoyt S. Vandenberg
1953-1957 -- Gen. Nathan F. Twining
1957-1961 -- Gen. Thomas D. White
1961-1965 -- Gen. Curtis E. LeMay
1965-1969 -- Gen. John P. McConnell
1969-1973 -- Gen. John D. Ryan
1973-1974 -- Gen. George S. Brown
1974-1978 -- Gen. David C. Jones
1978-1982 -- Gen. Lew Allen Jr.
1982-1986 -- Gen. Charles A. Gabriel
1986-1990 -- Gen. Larry D. Welch
1990 -- Gen. Michael J. Dugan
1990-1994 -- Gen. Merrill A. McPeak
1994-1997 -- Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman
1997-2001 -- Gen. Michael E. Ryan
2001-2005 -- Gen. John P. Jumper
2005-2008 -- Gen. T. Michael Moseley
2008-2012 -- Gen. Norton A. Schwartz
2012-2016 -- Gen. Mark A. Welsh III

2016-2020 -- Gen. David L. Goldfein

2020-Present  Gen. Charles Q. Brown, Jr.

U.S. Space Force Leadership

More Biographies here

Note: This exhibit is off display.
Click here to return to the Other Exhibits index.

Find Out More
Other Resources
Secretaries and Chiefs of Staff of the United States Air Force: Biographical Sketches and Portraits (Provided by AFHSO)