HomeVisitMuseum ExhibitsFact SheetsDisplay

Medal of Honor Recipients

Medal of Honor panel in the Korean War Gallery. (U.S. Air Force image).

Medal of Honor panel in the Korean War Gallery. (U.S. Air Force image).

"The President may award ... a medal of honor ... to a person who, while a member of the [armed forces], distinguished himself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty ..."

Four USAF pilots received the nation's highest combat decoration, the Medal of Honor, during the Korean War. All four acted above and beyond the call of duty, sacrificing their lives in battle.

Click on the following links to learn more about each Medal of Honor recipient.

Maj. Louis J. Sebille
Capt. John S. Walmsley Jr.
Lt. Col. George A. Davis Jr.
Maj. Charles J. Loring Jr.

Click here to return to the Korean War Gallery.


Find Out More
Related Fact Sheets
Medal of Honor Awards in the Air Force
Note: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the National Museum of the USAF, the U.S. Air Force, or the Department of Defense, of the external website, or the information, products or services contained therein.

Featured Links

Plan Your Visit button
E-newsletter Sign-up button
Explore Museum Exhibits button
Browse Photos button
Visit Press Room button
Become a Volunteer button
Air Force Museum Foundation button
Donate an item button